The Last Good Man

The Last Good Man

A. J. Kazinsky

A. J. Kazinsky

In Jewish scripture, there is a legend: There are thirty-six righteous people on earth. The thirty-six protect us. Without them, humanity would perish. But the thirty-six do not know they are the chosen ones.In Beijing, a monk collapses in his chamber, dead. A fiery mark—a tattoo? a burn?—spreads across his back and down his spine. In Mumbai, a beloved economist, a man who served the poor, dies suddenly. His corpse reveals the same symbol. Similar deaths are reported around the world—the victims all humanitarians, all with the same death mark. In Venice, an enterprising Italian policeman links the deaths, tracing the evidence. Who is killing good people around the world?In Copenhagen, police are preparing for a world climate summit when they receive the Interpol alert. The task falls to veteran detective Niels Bentzon: Find the “good people” of Denmark and warn them. But Bentzon is a man who is trained to see the worst in humanity, not the good. One by one, people are crossed off his list. He senses their secrets and wrongdoings. Just as Bentzon is ready to give up, he meets Hannah Lund, a brilliant astrophysicist mourning the death of her son and the implosion of her marriage. With Hannah’s help, Bentzon begins to piece together the puzzle of these far-flung deaths. A pattern emerges. It is, they realize, a perfectly executed plan of murder. There have been thirty-four deaths—two more to come if the legend is true. According to the pattern, Bentzon and Hannah can predict the time and place of the final two murders. The deaths will occur in Venice and Copenhagen. And the time is now.Review“A provocative thriller—somewhere between Dan Brown and Stieg Larsson.” —Danish Library Review (Danish Library Review )“The co-authors successfully keep the wheels of their end-of-the-world scenario spinning. . . . As dire as the situation is, this is a good-humored book with a cast of lively and likable characters.” —Kirkus Reviews (Kirkus Reviews )“A spectacular thriller. . . . This well-crafted twist of Jewish mythology made modern will appeal to fans of Dan Brown or Jennifer Lee Carrell.” —Library Journal [starred review] (Library Journal )“Like hearing an expert musician perform Mozart. The story is clever, and Vance’s style brings out every nuance. [His] uncanny ability to create a unique style for each character, and his smooth yet convincing ability to turn dialogue into an art form make the performance as memorable as the plot.” —AudioFile [Earphones Award] (AudioFile ) Review"With a rich brocade of charged emotion and a hero with grit and determination, The Last Good Man never disappoints. This one has everything I look for in a thriller--history, secrets, conspiracies, action, adventure, and international settings. Check this one out, you're going to love it."—Steve Berry, New York Times-bestselling author of The Amber Room and *The Columbus Affair* "The Last Good Man is a vivid, powerfully written adventure, where religion and science are melded into an impassioned brew."—Juan GÓmez-Jurado, author of The Moses Expedition and *The Traitor’s Emblem*“Intense.... Moments of rapid-fire suspense... A truly compelling and worthwhile journey.”—Associated Press“A mind blowing novel . . . with a spectacular ending.” —Pleine Vie (France)“Breathtaking.”—Ekstra Bladet (Denmark)“So tight and exciting that the pages fly through your fingers.”—Fredericia Dagblad (Denmark)“The buzz thriller of the season.”—L’indÉpendant (France)“A.J. Kazinski spins the web of suspense ever tighter, and the reader becomes irrevocably trapped in its web... An unbelievably good ending.”—Hamburger Abendblatt (Germany)“A fast-paced, smartly plotted book ... with a cast of lively and likable characters.”—*Kirkus*
Read online
  • 51