A Flicker in the Clarity

A Flicker in the Clarity

Amy McNamara

Young Adult / Contemporary / Romance

Award-winning author Amy McNamara explores the emotional fallout after a girl cuts ties with her best friend. Perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer Niven.Evie and Emma are inseparable. Two halves of a whole, they balance each other until Evie makes a flip decision that gets Emma in serious trouble.Feeling the sting of betrayal, Emma freezes Evie out. Evie is full of regret, desperately sorry, sad, and—for the first time in her life—entirely alone.Then Evie meets Theo, a boy who offers her a view of the world through a different lens. Just as she lets herself fall for Theo, Emma resurfaces—but not without consequence.Emma's erratic behavior, drunken mishaps, and panicked phone calls leave Evie afraid there's something deeper going on. Evie wants to help Emma, but Emma is bent on self-destruction.All Evie wanted was her friend back—but can you help someone who doesn't want to be saved?
Read online
  • 65
Lovely, Dark and Deep

Lovely, Dark and Deep

Amy McNamara

Young Adult / Contemporary / Romance

A resonant debut novel about retreating from the world after losing everything—and the connections that force you to rejoin it.Since the night of the crash, Wren Wells has been running away. Though she lived through the accident that killed her boyfriend Patrick, the girl she used to be didn’t survive. Instead of heading off to college as planned, Wren retreats to her father’s studio in the far-north woods of Maine. Somehwere she can be alone.Then she meets Cal Owen. Dealing with his own troubles, Cal’s hiding out too. When the chemistry between them threatens to pull Wren from her hard-won isolation, Wren has to choose: risk opening her broken heart to the world again, or join the ghosts who haunt her.Review“The story of Wren’s overwhelming grief and fragile new love is truthful, poetic and unflinchingly raw. An emotional and deeply insightful read.” (E. Lockhart, author of The Boyfriend List and the Printz Honor and National Book Award Finalist *The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks * )“In achingly beautiful prose, Amy McNamara has written a story of grief and bravery and hope that has the power to both haunt and heal. LOVELY, DARK AND DEEP is a masterful debut.” (Nina LaCour, author of Hold Still and *The Disenchantments * )“LOVELY, DARK AND DEEP earns each one of its title’s adjectives. Wren is one of the most compelling narrators I've ever come across. Her heart is large, her voice is convincing, and her journey matters...I'll keep this book on my shelf, and return to its riches again and again.” (Laura Kasischke, winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for *Space, in Chains * )"Wren’s quiet emergence from despair rings true." (Kirkus Reviews )"This first novel, like the poem alluded to in the title, finds beauty, wonder, trepidation, anddetermination quietly and in small moments." (Booklist ) About the AuthorAmy McNamara has an MFA in poetry from the Warren Wilson MFA Program for Writers. Lovely, Dark and Deep is her first novel. She lives in Brooklyn, New York. Visit her at AmyMcNamara.com.
Read online
  • 8
A Flicker in the Clarity

A Flicker in the Clarity

Amy McNamara

Young Adult / Contemporary / Romance

Award-winning author Amy McNamara explores the emotional fallout after a girl cuts ties with her best friend. Perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer Niven.Evie and Emma are inseparable. Two halves of a whole, they balance each other until Evie makes a flip decision that gets Emma in serious trouble.Feeling the sting of betrayal, Emma freezes Evie out. Evie is full of regret, desperately sorry, sad, and—for the first time in her life—entirely alone.Then Evie meets Theo, a boy who offers her a view of the world through a different lens. Just as she lets herself fall for Theo, Emma resurfaces—but not without consequence.Emma's erratic behavior, drunken mishaps, and panicked phone calls leave Evie afraid there's something deeper going on. Evie wants to help Emma, but Emma is bent on self-destruction.All Evie wanted was her friend back—but can you help someone who doesn't want to be saved?
Read online
  • 8