Our Little Cruelties

Our Little Cruelties

Liz Nugent

Liz Nugent

You hurt the ones you love the most...Three brothers are at the funeral. One lies in the coffin. Will, Brian and Luke grow up competing for their mother's unequal love. As men, the competition continues - for status, money, fame, women ...They each betray each other, over and over, until one of them is dead. But which brother killed him?
Read online
  • 523
Unravelling Oliver

Unravelling Oliver

Liz Nugent

Liz Nugent

WINNER - IBA Crime Fiction Book of the Year 2014  Liz Nugent's gripping novel of psychological suspense, Unravelling Oliver, is a complex and elegant study of the making of a sociopath in the tradition of Barbara Vine and Patricia Highsmith.  Oliver Ryan is a handsome and charismatic success story. He lives in the suburbs with his wife, Alice, who illustrates his award-winning children's books and gives him her unstinting devotion. Their life together is one of enviable privilege and ease - enviable until, one evening after supper, Oliver attacks Alice and beats her into a coma. In the aftermath, as everyone tries to make sense of his astonishing act of savagery, Oliver tells his story. So do those whose paths he has crossed over five decades. What unfolds is a story of shame, envy, breath-taking deception and masterful manipulation. Only Oliver knows the lengths to which he has had to go to get the life to which he felt entitled. But even he is in for a shock when the past catches up with him. Liz Nugent has worked in Irish film, theatre and television for most of her adult life. She is an award-winning writer of radio and television drama and has written short stories for children and adults. Unravelling Oliver is her first novel.
Read online
  • 65
Unraveling Oliver

Unraveling Oliver

Liz Nugent

Liz Nugent

In this "compelling, clever, and dark" (Heat magazine) thriller, a man's shocking act of savagery stuns a local community–and the revelations that follow will keep you gripped until the very last page. This psychological suspenseful bestseller in Ireland is perfect for fans of James Ellroy and Ruth Ware."I expected more of a reaction the first time I hit her." So begins Liz Nugent's astonishing debut novel—a chilling, elegantly crafted, and psychologically astute exploration of the nature of evil. Oliver Ryan, handsome, charismatic, and successful, has long been married to his devoted wife, Alice. Together they write and illustrate award-winning children's books; their life together one of enviable privilege and ease—until, one evening after a delightful dinner, Oliver delivers a blow to Alice that renders her unconscious and subsequently beats her into a coma. In the aftermath of such an unthinkable event, as Alice...
Read online
  • 19
Skin Deep

Skin Deep

Liz Nugent

Liz Nugent

'Perfect summer read for those who like their escapism on the darker side' Ian RankinThe deliciously sinister new novel from the No 1 bestselling author of Richard and Judy Book Club pick, Lying in Wait''I could probably have been an actress.It is not difficult to pretend to be somebody else.Isn't that what I've been doing for most of my life?'Cordelia Russell has been living on the French Riviera for twenty-five years, passing herself off as an English socialite. But her luck, and the kindness of strangers, have run out.The arrival of a visitor from her distant past shocks Cordelia. She reacts violently to the intrusion and flees her flat to spend a drunken night at a glittering party. As dawn breaks she stumbles home through the back streets. Even before she opens her door she can hear the flies buzzing. She did not expect the corpse inside to start decomposing quite so quickly . . .'Bloody...
Read online
  • 12