Sing With Me, Lucy McGee

Sing With Me, Lucy McGee

Mary Amato

Children's Books / Young Adult

When a talent show brings out cutthroat tendencies in her classmates, aspiring singer, songwriter, and ukulele player Lucy has to fight for what's fair and avoid falling for mean girl Scarlett's ploys yet again in the second book in the generously illustrated Lucy McGee series.Feisty and gullible, Lucy McGee has a lot to learn, but she has a blast doing it in this fun-filled chapter book with over 100 illustrations. Lucy and Philip are fuming when they find out that Scarlet is trying to exclude them from the songwriting club's ukulele and singing act at the talent show. Soon Lucy is in the doghouse again after her plan to get back at Scarlet backfires. So, Lucy calls a truce, but Scarlet only pretends to stop her antics. She locks Lucy and her friends in a janitor's closet during the show. It's up to Lucy to help the club members escape yet keep her own integrity. Characters dance across the pages in this heavily illustrated book. Backmatter includes lyrics to...
Read online
  • 229
Dog Gone!

Dog Gone!

Mary Amato

Children's Books / Young Adult

A funny, silly new series perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey. Mary Amato is a star of state master and children's choice lists and returns to the age category of her popular Riot Brothers chapter book series with this new venture. When their parents steal a monkey from the zoo to help them pick pockets, our heroes rush into action and return the wily animal using disguises, inventions, and old-fashioned shoe leather. They also learn what a monkey can do in 11 minutes: 1) Stick his fingers in your right nostril. 2) Lick your eyebrows, pick his teeth, and then wipe his finger on your shirt. Giggles and guffaws will be the result of anyone reading Book One of Good Crooks.
Read online
  • 152
Our Teacher is a Vampire and Other (Not) True Stories

Our Teacher is a Vampire and Other (Not) True Stories

Mary Amato

Children's Books / Young Adult

It all begins when Alexander H. Gory Jr. passes around a notebook in which he reveals a tantalizing secret: he has proof that their teacher, Mrs. Penrose, is a vampire. Soon the entire class is speculating and adding their opinions to the notebook until . . . it lands in Mrs. Penrose's hands. It turns out that Mrs. Penrose has been keeping a secret: she is expecting a baby. But since the notebook is encouraging her students to write and improving their spelling and grammar, Mrs. Penrose allows it to continue circulating.The notebook becomes a place for jokes, poems, and stories. When Mrs. Penrose's baby comes too soon, she is replaced by a no-nonsense substitute. Now, the students express their fears, frustrations and hopes.
Read online
  • 151
Missing Monkey!

Missing Monkey!

Mary Amato

Children's Books / Young Adult

A funny, silly new series perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey. Mary Amato is a star of state master and children's choice lists and returns to the age category of her popular Riot Brothers chapter book series with this new venture. When their parents steal a monkey from the zoo to help them pick pockets, our heroes rush into action and return the wily animal using disguises, inventions, and old-fashioned shoe leather. They also learn what a monkey can do in 11 minutes: 1) Stick his fingers in your right nostril. 2) Lick your eyebrows, pick his teeth, and then wipe his finger on your shirt. Giggles and guffaws will be the result of anyone reading Book One of Good Crooks.
Read online
  • 146
Stinky and Successful

Stinky and Successful

Mary Amato

Children's Books / Young Adult

Just when you thought the Riot Brothers couldn't get any wackier or more hilarious, along comes the third book in the series, chock full of even more eye-popping, mouth-foaming missions, games, and sayings. Whether Orville and Wilbur are playing Sock Me a Story, trying to boil macaroni in their mouths, or pulling off the best April Fool's joke ever, one thing's for sure: they certainly will never be accused of being bored.
Read online
  • 145
Lucky Me, Lucy McGee

Lucky Me, Lucy McGee

Mary Amato

Children's Books / Young Adult

Fourth grader Lucy McGee's ukulele is missing—and if she doesn't find it soon, she'll be kicked out of the Songwriting Club!Lucy McGee is determined to track down her beloved instrument, but she can't let anyone catch on—even best friend Phillip. When Lucy learns that YouTube songwriting stars Ben & Bee are playing a show on Saturday and they're giving away a free ukulele, it seems like the perfect solution. If only it wasn't the most in-demand, expensive concert ever.Soon frenemy Scarlett announces that she has an extra ticket to the show, prompting everyone in the Songwriting Club to try to win her over. Lucy McGee will have to get extra creative to find out what happened to her uke and to charm the always-scheming Scarlett in this humorous but heartfelt chapter book. The third book in Mary Amato's charming Lucy McGee series features artwork on every page as well as song lyrics for aspiring musicians to try out on their own.
Read online
  • 141
News From Me, Lucy McGee

News From Me, Lucy McGee

Mary Amato

Children's Books / Young Adult

When the coolest girl in the class invites you to her exclusive after-school club, how can you say no? Even if it means skipping out on Songwriting Club? Even if she's always been too popular to give you the time of day? Even if she asks you to paint the walls and serve the tea...? Soon Lucy McGee realizes she's been tricked into becoming mean girl Scarlett Tandy's errand girl—and she's getting in trouble for skipping her after-school activities. Things get complicated as she tries to balance school, friends, frenemies, songwriting, and family expectations. Clearly Lucy has to strike back! But it turns out that singing and playing your ukulele—and having loads of fun doing it—are the best revenge. In this new series from state-award favorite Mary Amato, a spunky heroine matches wits with a mean girl and learns that middle can be a balancing act—so you can't lose sight of what's important. Features 3 of Lucy's songs,... **When the coolest girl in the class invites you to her exclusive after-school club, how can you say no? * * * ** Even if it means skipping out on Songwriting Club? Even if she's always been too popular to give you the time of day? Even if she asks you to paint the walls and serve the tea...? Soon Lucy McGee realizes she's been tricked into becoming mean girl Scarlett Tandy's errand girl--and she's getting in trouble for skipping her after-school activities. Things get complicated as she tries to balance school, friends, frenemies, songwriting, and family expectations. Clearly Lucy has to strike back! But it turns out that singing and playing your ukulele--and having loads of fun doing it--are the best revenge. In this new series from state-award favorite Mary Amato, a spunky heroine matches wits with a mean girl and learns that middle can be a balancing act--so you can't lose sight of what's important. This heavily-illustrated chapter book features a durable paper-over-board cover, three of Lucy's songs, and a sneak peek of Book Two, Sing With Me, Lucy McGee!
Read online
  • 115
Take the Mummy and Run

Take the Mummy and Run

Mary Amato

Children's Books / Young Adult

Plastic snakes, lost mummies, and water parks? Hip hip hooroonie! Summer has just begun, and the Riot Brothers are ready for adventure. But their cousin Amelia E. Hart is coming for a weekend visit. Will she be boring? Not a chance! Whether solving mysteries or playing Holey Cheese-n-Peas, this zany trio is always up for an adventure.
Read online
  • 104
Sniff a Skunk!

Sniff a Skunk!

Mary Amato

Children's Books / Young Adult

A funny, silly series perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey, Tony Abbott, and Nancy Krulik. Mary Amato is a star of state master and children's choice lists and returns to the age category of her popular Riot Brothers chapter book series with this new venture.Good Crooks Book Three: Sniff a Skunk! brings back our favorite pair of do-gooder crooks in a hilarious adventure about an odiferous encounter with a skunk.The first two books in the series are Book-of-the-Month-Club selections.Releases simultaneously in hardcover (ISBN 978-1-60684-598-1) and eBook (ISBN 978-1-60684-600-1) formats. Praise for Good Crooks Book One: Missing Monkey! "A new chapter-book series about do-gooder thieves...Scrappy song lyrics, energetic illustrations and plenty of potty humor keep the hilarity high for reluctant readers."--Kirkus Reviews "...will have beginning readers eager for more chaotic misadventures from these well-meaning...
Read online
  • 97
Invisible Lines

Invisible Lines

Mary Amato

Children's Books / Young Adult

If there's one thing I'm good at it's making people laugh because when I'm standing up I'm what you call a stand-up comedian, and when I'm sitting down, I'm just plain funny. Trevor is just plain funny, and he's lucky he is. Because this year he needs a sense of humor. Moving to a new home is hard enough--the sign reads hedley gardens, but everyone calls these projects deadly gardens. And the move to a fancy new school is even harder--all the kids from Deadly Gardens seem to be in the same classes and keep to themselves, but somehow Trevor's ended up in an advanced science class with kids who seem to have everything, and know everything, including how to please their strange new teacher.Someone else might just give up, but Trevor has plans. This is going to be his year. And he is going to use whatever he has, do whatever it takes, to make it at this new school. He may not have what these other kids have, but Trevor knows he's got...
Read online
  • 91
Get Happy

Get Happy

Mary Amato

Children's Books / Young Adult

In this poignant, realistic, contemporary YA by a state master list star, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Gayle Forman, a young songwriter builds a substitute family with her friends in place of the broken family she grew up with.Minerva has been raised by her single mother after her father left them both. On her 17th birthday, she is shocked to discover that he has been trying to keep in touch, but her mother has been sabotaging his attempts. Furious at her mom, she begins to investigate her dad, a famous marine biologist, only to discover that he has a new family, including a beloved, and perfect, stepdaughter--a girl Minerva already knows and despises. As she makes her way, trying to build her performing and songwriting career, her jealousy takes over and threatens to derail her life completely. It is only through the efforts of her best friend, Fin, and the introduction of Hayes, a new young man in her life, that she is able to see clearly who she is and who makes...
Read online
  • 83