The Very Large Princess

The Very Large Princess

Sheela Word

Fiction / Young Adult / Children's

"Aye, she is large. Large of heart and large of mind."Drusilla loves Prince Aubrey, but can he requite her love? Her sister Margery is so very beautiful, and Drusilla is so very large. (Short story, 5,550 words)Drusilla loves Prince Aubrey, but can he requite her love? Her sister Margery is so very beautiful, and Drusilla is so very large. (Short story, 5,550 words)Excerpt: Her father met her with a frown. "Read this," he said, holding out a piece of parchment. "Excellent and most honored King Piers," the letter began. "I beseech your forgiveness for departing in such haste. Although I honor and admire Princess Drusilla, I regret that I am unable to offer for her hand. I am of only middling size, and Drusilla is such a very large princess...." Drusilla looked at her trembling hands. They were indeed very large, but she had hoped, nay believed, that he did not find them so. Had he always perceived her thus...e'en during the times he had seemed most tender? How soft his dark eyes had seemed to be when they looked on her.
Read online
  • 390
The Princess Who Rode on a Mule

The Princess Who Rode on a Mule

Sheela Word

Fiction / Young Adult / Children's

"Folk measure the world by themselves. A traitor sees naught but treachery, but a man of honor will entrust his very life to other men."King Valentine is a mad tyrant, and belike he will force his daughter Hadley to marry someone e'en worse than himself. The Baron of Comberlane is greedy, and Lord Vardis, though handsome, is cruel. Master Cope, the King's steward, would help Hadley if he could, but alas, what can be done?  (Short story, 44 pages)This is the ninth story in "Nine Princesses: Tales of Love and Romance." The book is most likely to appeal to fans of Jane Austen, Georgette Heyer, or Shakespeare.
Read online
  • 21