The Fourteenth Goldfish

The Fourteenth Goldfish

Jennifer L. Holm

Children's Books / Historical Fiction / Comics & Graphic Novels

Believe in the possible . . . with this brilliantly quirky, thought-provoking novel from New York Times bestseller, three-time Newbery Honor winner Jennifer L. Holm Galileo. Newton. Salk. Oppenheimer. Science can change the world . . . but can it go too far? Eleven-year-old Ellie has never liked change. She misses fifth grade. She misses her old best friend. She even misses her dearly departed goldfish. Then one day a strange boy shows up. He's bossy. He's cranky. And weirdly enough . . . he looks a lot like Ellie's grandfather, a scientist who's always been slightly obsessed with immortality. Could this pimply boy really be Grandpa Melvin? Has he finally found the secret to eternal youth? With a lighthearted touch and plenty of humor, Jennifer Holm celebrates the wonder of science and explores fascinating questions about life and death, family and friendship, immortality . . . and possibility.
Read online
  • 149
Miss Communication

Miss Communication

Jennifer L. Holm

Children's Books / Historical Fiction / Comics & Graphic Novels

Watch out, middle school! In her second foray out of graphic novels and into middle grade, Babymouse has a smartphone, and she's not afraid to use it. . . .Ping! Ping! The sound of texting is in the air. Everyone at middle school has a cell phone. Babymouse just has to get one, too.But having a phone is a lot of work! Building up a following on SoFamous, learning text lingo, keeping up with all the important koala videos . . . Babymouse is ready to tear her whiskers out. Why does it suddenly feel like she has no friends? Somehow, Babymouse needs to figure out how to stop worrying and love her smartphone . . . if Locker doesn't eat it first.#Typical.
Read online
  • 140
School-Tripped

School-Tripped

Jennifer L. Holm

Children's Books / Historical Fiction / Comics & Graphic Novels

Watch out, Big City! Babymouse is on a field trip without a chaperone in the third book in the Babymousetastic, highly illustrated Babymouse: Tales from the Locker series.Babymouse's art class is headed to the museum in the Big City. And now that they're middle-schoolers, she and her friends will be totally unsupervised! She can't wait to check out all the world-famous art . . . that is, until she overhears Felicia Furrypaws planning to ditch the museum and hit the town instead. Babymouse decides to test her freedom with an urban adventure of her own. Will she make it back to the museum before the bus leaves? Or will life in the Big City trip her up big-time?
Read online
  • 131
The Third Mushroom

The Third Mushroom

Jennifer L. Holm

Children's Books / Historical Fiction / Comics & Graphic Novels

Ellie's grandpa Melvin is a world-renowned scientist . . . in the body of a fourteen-year-old boy. His feet stink, and he eats everything in the refrigerator—and Ellie is so happy to have him around. Grandpa may not exactly fit in at middle school, but he certainly keeps things interesting. When he and Ellie team up for the county science fair, no one realizes just how groundbreaking their experiment will be. The formula for eternal youth may be within their reach! And when Ellie's cat, Jonas Salk, gets sick, the stakes become even higher. But is the key to eternal life really the key to happiness? Sometimes even the most careful experiments yield unexpected—and wonderful—results.
Read online
  • 129
Lights, Camera, Middle School!

Lights, Camera, Middle School!

Jennifer L. Holm

Children's Books / Historical Fiction / Comics & Graphic Novels

It's a new kind of book for Babymouse! Fans of Dork Diaries, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and James Patterson's Middle School books, this is going to be epic. . . . For Babymouse, middle school is like a monster movie. You can never be sure who's a friend and who's an enemy, and the halls are filled with mean-girl zombies. Instead of brains, the zombies hunger for stuff—the perfect wedge sandals or the right shade of sparkly lip gloss—and they expect everyone to be just like them. But Babymouse doesn't want to fit in—she wants to stand out! So she joins the film club to write and direct a sweeping cinematic epic. Will making the film of her dreams turn into a nightmare? Thanks to Babymouse, middle school gets schooled in this hilarious new series from bestselling authors Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm.
Read online
  • 69
The Trouble with May Amelia

The Trouble with May Amelia

Jennifer L. Holm

Children's Books / Historical Fiction / Comics & Graphic Novels

The long-awaited and highly anticipated sequel to the Newbery Honor winner Our Only May Amelia, by the bestselling and cherished author Jennifer Holm. May Amelia Jackson captured readers hearts in the Newbery Honor Book Our Only May Amelia. Now, after more than ten years, Jennifer Holm is bringing this beloved character back in a beautifully written story thats both heartbreaking and hilarious. May Amelia lives with her pioneer family on a farm in 1900, but she just cant act the part of a proper young ladyand it doesnt help that she has seven brothers and a Pappa who proclaim that Girls Are Useless. May Amelia jumps at the chance to earn her fathers respect when he asks her to translate for a gentleman whos interested in buying their land and making them rich. But when the deal turns out to be a scam, Pappa places all the blame on May. Its going to take a lot of sisuthats Finnish for gutsto make things right.
Read online
  • 59
Our Only May Amelia

Our Only May Amelia

Jennifer L. Holm

Children's Books / Historical Fiction / Comics & Graphic Novels

It isn′t easy being a pioneer in the state of Washington in 1899, but it′s particularly hard when you are the only girl ever born in the new settlement. With seven older brothers and a love of adventure, May Amelia Jackson just can′t seem to abide her family′s insistence that she behave like a Proper Young Lady. She′s sure she could do better if only there were at least one other girl living along the banks of the Nasel River. And now that Mama′s going to have a baby, maybe there′s hope. Inspired by the diaries of her great-aunt, the real May Amelia, first-time novelist Jennifer Holm has given us a beautifully crafted tale of one young girl whose unique spirit captures the courage, humour, passion and depth of the American pioneer experience. ∗Newbery Honour Book (USA), 2000 Ages 10+
Read online
  • 52