Like Sisters on the Homefront

Like Sisters on the Homefront

Rita Williams-Garcia

Historical / Historical Fiction / Childrens / Middle Grade

Rita Williams-Garcia's masterful and bold Coretta Scott King Honor Book is just as fresh, funny, and powerfully relevant today as when it was first published. It is now being reissued with a beautiful, contemporary new cover! When fourteen-year-old Gayle gets in trouble with a boy—again—her mother doesn't give her a choice: Gayle is getting sent away from New York to her family down South, along with her baby, José. In a small town in Georgia, there is nowhere to go but church, nothing to do but chores, and no friends except her goody-goody, big-boned, kneesock-wearing cousin, Cookie. Gayle is stuck cleaning up after Great, the old family matriarch who stays upstairs in her bed.But the more she spends time with Cookie and Great, Gayle learns about her family's history and secrets, stretching all the way back through the preachers and ancestors of the past. And slowly, the stories of her roots begin to change how Gayle...
Read online
  • 410
Every Time a Rainbow Dies

Every Time a Rainbow Dies

Rita Williams-Garcia

Historical / Historical Fiction / Childrens / Middle Grade

Ever since he found her battered and raped in the alley near his home, Thulani hasn't been able to think about anything but Ysa. This is the first time since his mother died that he's given a thought to anything but the rock doves he keeps on the roof of his house in Brooklyn. Now that he has seen Ysa, Thulani finally has a reason to come down from the roof. But it's not so easy for him -- especially when it seems that Ysa doesn't want him in her world at all.
Read online
  • 128
Gone Crazy in Alabama

Gone Crazy in Alabama

Rita Williams-Garcia

Historical / Historical Fiction / Childrens / Middle Grade

Newbery Honor winner and New York Times bestselling author Rita Williams-Garcia tells the story of the Gaither sisters, who are about to learn what it's like to be fish out of water as they travel from the streets of Brooklyn to the rural South for the summer of a lifetime.Delphine, Vonetta, and Fern are off to Alabama to visit their grandmother, Big Ma, and her mother, Ma Charles. Across the way lives Ma Charles's half sister, Miss Trotter. The two half sisters haven't spoken in years. As Delphine hears about her family history, she uncovers the surprising truth that's been keeping the sisters apart. But when tragedy strikes, Delphine discovers that the bonds of family run deeper than she ever knew possible. Powerful and humorous, this companion to the award-winning One Crazy Summer and P.S. Be Eleven will be enjoyed by fans of the first two books as well as by readers meeting these memorable sisters for the first time.
Read online
  • 96
No Laughter Here

No Laughter Here

Rita Williams-Garcia

Historical / Historical Fiction / Childrens / Middle Grade

Even though they were born in different countries, Akilah and Victoria are true best friends. But Victoria has been acting strange ever since she returned from her summer in Nigeria, where she had a special coming-of-age ceremony. Why does proud Victoria, named for a queen, slouch at her desk and answer the teacher's questions in a whisper? And why won't she laugh with Akilah anymore?
Read online
  • 87
One Crazy Summer

One Crazy Summer

Rita Williams-Garcia

Historical / Historical Fiction / Childrens / Middle Grade

Eleven-year-old Delphine has it together. Even though her mother, Cecile, abandoned her and her younger sisters, Vonetta and Fern, seven years ago. Even though her father and Big Ma will send them from Brooklyn to Oakland, California, to stay with Cecile for the summer. And even though Delphine will have to take care of her sisters, as usual, and learn the truth about the missing pieces of the past.When the girls arrive in Oakland in the summer of 1968, Cecile wants nothing to do with them. She makes them eat Chinese takeout dinners, forbids them to enter her kitchen, and never explains the strange visitors with Afros and black berets who knock on her door. Rather than spend time with them, Cecile sends Delphine, Vonetta, and Fern to a summer camp sponsored by a revolutionary group, the Black Panthers, where the girls get a radical...
Read online
  • 75
Clayton Byrd Goes Underground

Clayton Byrd Goes Underground

Rita Williams-Garcia

Historical / Historical Fiction / Childrens / Middle Grade

5 Starred Reviews!"This slim novel strikes a strong chord"—Publishers Weekly (starred review)"This complex tale of family and forgiveness has heart." —School Library Journal (starred review)"Strong characterizations and vivid musical scenes add layers to this warm family story." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)"An appealing, realistic story with frequent elegant turns of phrase." —The Horn Book (starred review)"Garcia-Williams skillfully finds melody in words." —Booklist (starred review)From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander. Clayton feels most alive when he's with his grandfather, Cool Papa Byrd, and the band...
Read online
  • 54
Jumped

Jumped

Rita Williams-Garcia

Historical / Historical Fiction / Childrens / Middle Grade

The wrong angleTrina: "Hey," I say, though I don't really know them. The boyed-up basketball girl barely moves. The others, her girls, step aside. It's okay if they don't speak. I know how it is. They can't all be Trina.Dominique: Some stupid little flit cuts right in between us and is like, "Hey." Like she don't see I'm here and all the space around me is mines. I slam my fist into my other hand because she's good as jumped.Leticia: Why would I get involved in Trina's life when I don't know for sure if I saw what I thought I saw? Who is to say I wasn't seeing it from the wrong angle?Acclaimed author Rita Williams-Garcia intertwines the lives of three very different teens in this fast-paced, gritty narrative about choices and the impact that even the most seemingly insignificant ones can have. Weaving in and out of the girls' perspectives, readers will find themselves not with one intimate portrayal but three.
Read online
  • 34