An Orphan's Winter

An Orphan's Winter

Sheila Jeffries

Animals / Cats / Fiction

A heart-warming and nostalgic family saga set in Cornwall at the turn of the century. Perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry and Katie Flynn.When tragedy strikes, will her family come together again? Almost a decade after being rescued from a shipwreck by a local Cornish family, sixteen-year-old Lottie is settled in St Ives with her adoptive family. But after a trip to America to meet her birth mother ends badly, Lottie fears her new life might be falling apart . . . Arriving back in Cornwall, Lottie struggles to adjust to life with her temperamental mother around, and her very arrival shakes up their quiet community. Lottie, too, faces a more difficult problem - she's hiding the secret of her first love. And soon she is forced to make a choice between her duty to her family and to her heart. As new challenges arrive for Lottie and the community in St Ives, will she and her family be able to overcome their troubles and find their way back to each...
Read online
  • 176
Solomon's Tale

Solomon's Tale

Sheila Jeffries

Animals / Cats / Fiction

The story of a little cat who saved a family in crisis. Solomon's story began one stormy night... Found on the doorstep in the middle of a thunderstorm, Solomon enters the King family as a tiny, wet ball of fur. But as his new owner Ellen coaxes him back to life, it becomes clear that he is no ordinary cat. Wise beyond his years, this little black and white kitten becomes the family's protector. As Ellen and her young son deal with abuse, homelessness, and the loss of everything they hold dear, it is Solomon who brings light to the darkest times. Inspiring, moving and heartbreaking, 'Solomon's Tale' is the story of an extraordinary cat who is the most faithful of friends. The perfect read for fans of 'A Street Cat Named Bob'.
Read online
  • 65
Solomon's Kitten

Solomon's Kitten

Sheila Jeffries

Animals / Cats / Fiction

'This is a special kitten. She has come to heal.'Moments after she is born, tiny kitten Tallulah, with her bright eyes and silver and white fur edged with gold, is whisked away from her father Solomon and dumped in the hedge like rubbish.After a tough start to life, neglected and abandoned, Tallulah eventually finds a new home with the Lee family and forms a special bond with their daughter Tammy. But Tammy has a terrible secret and Tallulah must do all in her power to keep the family safe.Moving, uplifting and inspiring, Solomon's Kitten is the story of a cat who heals a family, and explores the true gift an animal can bring to our lives.
Read online
  • 55
The Girl by the River

The Girl by the River

Sheila Jeffries

Animals / Cats / Fiction

Moments after she is born, Tessa Barcussy is branded as 'trouble'. On the same day, her father Freddie encounters a Romany Gypsy who makes a chilling prediction about Tessa's destiny. Freddie finds it so disturbing that he writes it down and hides it in a sealed envelope - never to be opened, he hopes. Yet the gypsy's words haunt him as he bonds with his new baby daughter. Hyper-sensitive and rebellious, Tessa grows up a misfit, difficult to handle and disruptive. Freddie and his wife Kate struggle to raise this challenging child and nurture her creative gifts. Tessa feels that her path to happiness is chequered, growing up in the shadow of her sister, golden-child Lucy, and hiding a dark secret from everyone? Will the words of the Romany Gypsy come true? Or will they empower Tessa to finally become the person she was born to be?
Read online
  • 49
Born to Be Trouble

Born to Be Trouble

Sheila Jeffries

Animals / Cats / Fiction

The poignant and gripping new saga from the author of the bestselling The Girl by the River and The Boy with No Boots, perfect for fans of Margeret Dickinson and Katie Flynn. Running away from heartache and scandal, Tessa flees Cornwall to London in search of anonymity and freedom. Sleeping rough, scared and suicidal, she contemplates throwing herself in the river. Then she discovers the Samaritans and a volunteer, Dorothy, who patiently listens as Tessa pours out a lifetime of troubles. Inspired by Dorothy, Tessa tries to turn her life around. And when she meets Paul, she feels she has at last found a soulmate. But Paul is not the man he seems. When a tragedy at home calls Tessa back to the countryside she grew up in, her past and present collide. Can she finally find the strength to fulfil her destiny? And who will be waiting to help her begin her journey?
Read online
  • 46
Timba Comes Home

Timba Comes Home

Sheila Jeffries

Animals / Cats / Fiction

Timba and Vati are named after lions: and two black kittens against the world is the pact they make when they are abandoned in a ditch.But when Timba is eventually found by a young boy, Leroy, he is alone and starving. Leroy has a tough life and that is something Timba can relate to - he finds it impossible not to love the sad little boy and be his friend. Through Leroy Timba also meets Angie, Leroy's teacher, and they forge a special bond - Angie will help him find Vati, whatever it takes.Can these two black kittens find their way back to each other, and use their cat power to heal the lives of the people they love?
Read online
  • 43
A Cornish Orphan

A Cornish Orphan

Sheila Jeffries

Animals / Cats / Fiction

A captivating Cornish saga set at the turn of the century, from the bestselling author of The Boy With No Boots and The Girl by the River Following a terrible storm, seven-year-old Lottie is rescued from a shipwreck by local Cornishman, Arnie Lanroska. Her clothing suggests she comes from a wealthy family, but Lottie's back bears the scars of a severe beating, and how she came to be on a cargo ship in the first place remains a mystery . . . Arnie and his wife already have two young children, Matt and Tom, but are desperate to keep Lottie. They decide to foster her, despite outcries from the local community, and though Matt appears hesitant to get close to Lottie, Tom quickly warms to the new sister in his life. But when tragedy strikes the very heart of the Lanroska family, the repercussions could change the lives of everyone close to them . . .A nostalgic and heart-warming family saga, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Margaret Dickinson
Read online
  • 38
The Boy with No Boots

The Boy with No Boots

Sheila Jeffries

Animals / Cats / Fiction

The gift of clairvoyance has been in Sheila Jeffries' family for three generations, and the saga of THE BOY WITH NO BOOTS follows the thread of how this wonderful gift was misunderstood, judged and forbidden until it eventually flourished after years of denial. It was a gift too bright for one family to contain.Freddie Barcussy knows hardship and pain. His parents Annie and Levi are struggling to make ends meet, both suffering with illness and poverty. They need their luck to change.Unbeknown to the them, Freddie holds the key to their futures. He has a gift, a gift he has told no one about, and it is about to change all their lives for ever ...
Read online
  • 6